Cranberry Wine

Yesterday I started 2 gallons of cranberry wine with fresh cranberries I bought for cranberry nut bread, and had 2 pounds left over. I always buy too many.

Cranberry Wine

2 gallon jar
2 pounds fresh cranberries
8 cups sugar
1/2 packet yeast
water

I froze the cranberries in their bag because it breaks the cell walls and makes it easier to release the juice. Then I poured them into a pan and covered with water. Simmered on low until soft and mashed to release more flavor. I simmered and mashed until it was sauce thickness.

Add 8 cups sugar to your fermentation container and pour boiling water over it. Stir to dissolve. Add cranberry mixture to jar and stir in. Fill to 2 gallon mark with more boiling water.

Let cool, then add 1/2 packet of proofed yeast.

Cover to keep out air and allow to ferment for 3 weeks. Rack. Allow to ferment until it reaches your desired alcohol level. Stop fermentation and bottle.

This is the most gorgeous red.  I considered adding spices or apples, perhaps next year after I see how this tastes.  Once I taste it I will know what, if anything, I want to add.   It will likely make a nice holiday mulled wine.  I am not likely to make more than 2 gallons this year, but that seems enough for next winter’s holidays.

I am enjoying making small batches of wine.  It is nearly time to rack my pear wine, which is still a soft yellow color.

Cranberry Wine is a lovely Christmas red and, if it turns out well, I might purposely buy enough fruit to make 2017 Cranberry Wine.  Can you imagine starting a wine in January for use a year or 10 years from now?  Winemakers are the ultimate optimists.

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in Circular Economy, food forest, permaculture, plant uses, Prepper, wine/cider and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

