Monsanto Buying Heirloom Seed Companies

Bad News: Monsanto is buying up heirloom seed companies, including Seminis, which sells to Burpee. Burpee made a commitment to non GMO seeds, but who can trust Monsanto as a supplier?

Good News: Monsanto profits are down.

Bizarre News: Monsanto is trademarking the names of common heirloom seeds and anyone selling those seeds has to pay Monsanto a fee to use the name.

Disheartening News:  EU Environmental Council has opened a worm hole for Monsanto and will be voting soon. If you do not want GMO crops in Europe and live in the EU, please contact these folks.

Disgusting News:  Monsanto is destroying my innocent joy in perusing seed catalogues every winter and trying out new varieties.  I will not feed the beast.

Walkabout: saving seeds.

I have no control over companies like Monsanto.  The best solution I have ever come up with for myself is the Walkabout.  The Monsanto mountain is a big, evil, and scary thing.  They just added another peak for me to walkabout.  The journey gets longer every year.  I do enjoy the leisurely pace.

I have been saving seeds for years and have quite a stash. There are good books on seed saving, the most common method being let the seed mature until dry, collect and store in a cool, dark place.

A little more complex are seeds like tomato and cucumber that have a gel coating to prevent germination.  Let them ripen fully, then put the seeds in a small dish and cover with water.   They ferment and grow mold.  Smell nasty too.  At this point add water, mix and pour off the nasty part.  Repeat until clean.  Drain and dry the seeds quickly, before they sprout.  I air dry, which is quick and easy here in New Mexico.

Monsanto got a Presidential pardon on murder.  No pardon from me.

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in Circular Economy, food forest, gardening, permaculture, Prepper and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Monsanto Buying Heirloom Seed Companies

  1. Helen says:

    Horrifying to learn of Monsanto’s latest tricks to furnish its business at the expense of the world. I’ve only just got into seed saving as a way round this but it gives me a lot of satisfaction.

    What do you mean by your ‘walkabout’?

  2. Hi Helen, a walkabout is a long walk around your country, but has a pleasant connotation of discovery. Thinking of it as having to walk around the evil monolith of Monsanto is aggravating, so I say it is a walkabout voyage of discovery.

  3. This is an incredibly important matter, and thanks to you for highlighting some of Monsanto’s more recent transgressions. I had no idea they had designs on Heritage seeds/varieties. It is outrageous: uncontrolled greed. Plus: what is the long-term plan in all this?
    You certainly find active campaigners working to preserve traditional varieties in Europe – in the UK a member of the royal family is leading the way! A few years ago I stayed on a farm in Umbria, Italy, where some ancient types of cereals – spelt, millet and another type of wheat that was not spelt – are cultivated organically. It was inspiring to discover the farm, and the commitment of the farmer to these ancient plants.
    Please continue to write about your own campaign to preserve genetic diversity for future generations – I am with you all the way.

    • Hi Sylvia,

      Thanks. I am a seed saver and collector. For this property alone I have collected wild seed and increased my species diversity. Of course, nearly 4 feet of snow puts that on the back burner… but my entire project is about creating a circular economy inside a food forest. We need all the he we can get! This is a wild mountainside so most of my diversity is adding wild species that possibly died out in our 11 year drought. I also have some heritage garden species, my favorites are bolita beans and rocky mountain corn.

  4. Pingback: Monsanto Buying Heirloom Seed Companies | treeseeddreaming – WORLD ORGANIC NEWS

  5. Pingback: Dr Vandana Shiva (David) vs. Monsanto (Goliath) | The Free

Leave a Reply

