Indoor Garden Needed Paint

Yesterday I started to put my new shelving unit together for the indoor garden then I realized I wanted to paint that room.

The trailerstead has cheap old paneling and it is a medium brown color.  I bought black metal shelves, and will use flat black pots. I stopped the assembly process and started painting the walls a pale gray-green, close to our sagebrush in color.

Got about halfway through with the paint job, and already like it much better.  I am okay with the paneling texture, and the pale gray-green sets off the black.  I took one of my plants in there and the brighter green shows well against the neutrals.

I started on the wall where I will put the first shelving unit, so after it dries I will assemble the shelves before I get back to painting.  I really want that box of parts out of the way.

There are 2 small black hanging shelves next to the closet, one holds gray art glass and one with a black and white photo of a Pacific beach.  I removed all paintings, the 3 shelving units will cover those walls.  I will mix in a bit of art glass with the plants since they show very well under lights and are beautiful on that kind of neutral background.  I think I will have Home Depot cut several 2x10x10 pieces of wood as tiny display stands for stability on the wire shelving.  I can finish them.  If I want a piece to sit higher, I can stack 2 or 3 of the boards.

Today I assembled the shelves and put them in place.  I took garlic chives and onion chives in.  Yay!  I continued painting but didn’t finish.  I am done for today, time for dinner and to start bread rising.

I have not chosen my edibles yet, more fun to come.

I am enjoying my little indoor gardening project.  It will now be a room used every day instead a storage room opened every week or three.

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in Circular Economy, crafts, gardening, greenhouse, permaculture, Prepper and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Indoor Garden Needed Paint

  1. Mike says:

    Rebecca,
    we live @ 7700 ft in the southern Sacramento mountains and IT is rough to do any gardening we have been doing well since 04, takes lots of time and experiments to overcome the temps, short growing season and altitude. but it can be done and since i retire in a few weeks, we have been looking at other ares BUT have NOT found anything that is better than this place. You sound like you have been doing your home work and you will do well. the economy is in the tank and we will have to wait and see if that brings us Chaos and or riots. either way appear to be getting rougher and who knows how far it will go!
    keep the faith! we can share our trials with you if you need any info. cannot say it will work for you, but who knows!

    • Mike, I appreciate your input any time. I have an oddball mix of native edibles and short season European varities. I got good results last summer with warm season vegetables in pots. I started making 24 inch raised beds to extend the season. My local bolita beans will grow without extra water here. Asparagus will too. I ordered some mountain dent corn, and hope it does well, multicolored! Do you have a good source for mountain vegetable seeds? I would appreciate that. If I cannot find good seed, I will breed my own!

    • Mike, potatoes are great, they are from the Andes.

    • Yahooie says:

      I grew up in MI and spent some of my adult life there. Back there, rhubarb grows easily and comes back every year. Some types of raspberries and strawberries are also easy to grow. (I only know about old fashioned types.) Root crops like carrots and potatoes or beets do fine as well. Asparagus grows wild so that’s a possibility. Warm soil loving crops (like tomatoes) always needed to be started inside and transplanted. Even then, we always chose shorter maturity varieties. I hope my comments are okay. Didn’t have to worry about altitude in MI.

      This summer, I plan to revisit Mount Vernon and take careful notes on G Washington’s horticulture methods. I know there is a greenhouse there that he built for overwintering certain plants. I also remember the kitchen gardens were terraced with stone walls with the purpose being to extend the growing season.

      Another place I want to visit is Monticello because Jefferson also had great ideas on gardens and expanding the growing season.

      A person might think Virginia is lucky for growing things, and it is. Also recall that in the 1700s, it was important to expand the growing season because the garden had to supply all their needs. There was no other backup system aside from trading with neighbors or whatever small towns might be nearby.

      I hope to emulate what you and Rebecca are doing within a year or so. I am looking for some property now but must be careful since it’s all on a shoestring. Besides foodstuffs, I’d like to also have herbs for food and plants for dyestuff to use on wool. Flax may be outside my skills. Have to give that a test.

      Sorry for the long post. Had a lot to say, I guess. 😀

      • Yahooie,

        Perfect! I have a spot for a terraced garden, but won’t move more stones until the house is in and buried. I plan strawberries, raspberries, beets, and carrots this year. I may add rhubarb, which I have never eaten. I always go for herbs, and want to try dyes… need some wool.

        I hear ya re shoestring, I have completely shoestring ed it here. A coworker told me Torrance county is easier

Leave a Reply

