Winter Gardening Indoors

My indoor winter garden is taking shape.  In addition to my kitchen and luving areas I am getting my extra bedroom moving forward.

I found the same wire shelving that I have inside all my closets and I just bought a 36x72x18 inch shelving unit with five shelves.  This is important to me because I will later use all of them in the garage for storage.  They sit next to each other without wasting space.  The 18 inch depth is nice for plants to spread out, and an addition of 45 feet of shelf space has been figuring heavily in my daydreams about this garden in my extra bedroom.

I will get the shelving assenbled, put in place, lights attached, and start putting my vegetables on it.  I also started looking at the light fixtures available.  It has been a while since I last bought any so will do a little looking around.  A nice bonus is the west window that lights this small space every afternoon.

For the beginning, I have two 72 seed starter greenhouses and a lot of seeds.  Potentially 144 little plants.  I bought more seeds today and have a lot in my stash.  The nice part is that I will be able to start seeds right away for this garden and start seeds for outdoors in March.

I need more pots and will add more as I go.  I have flat-black color pots in the living area and like the way they fade back and showcase the plants themselves so I will match them in the garden room.  That way, I can keep the edibles in the living area at their best appearance and switch out as I please.

I am still working on shifting storage items to other locations.  I have a lot of things, some of which will be donated to the thrift store.   In any event, I am pleased with how this indoor garden space is shaping up.

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in Circular Economy, gardening, greenhouse, permaculture, Prepper and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

