Hawk Swooped Down

Wow, Brer Hawk just swooped down and grabbed a tenant in my condo. I am amazed I saw that, but have taken to sitting next to this window with a good view of my proposed home location, and into the woods up the hill.  With snow on the ground, tracks everywhere show I am not alone.

Brer Hawk swooped down at an odd angle and I knew he was after a tenant, but he came in slow and twisted and tight to the hill, so I guess Brer Rabbit didn’t see him coming.

Brer Hawk killed Brer Rabbit before flying off with him, so there was no movement or screaming as he flew away.  I am glad Brer Hawk handled that quickly.

Another big predator on my property shows that I have a healthy ecosystem.  I let my wildflower gardens stand again this winter, feeding rabbits and other prey.  My rabbits are beautiful and sleek this year, even in deep January snows and as they eat, they drop the best possible soil fertilizer all around.  Wildflower seeds  are why I have endless wildlife tracks around my trailerstead.  Food abounds from my wet summer.  I will continue enriching my food forest and circular economy, counting on wildlife to spread seeds beyond my five acres.  This wet winter will give my fruit trees a good push toward summer monsoons.

Brer Rabbit had a premium south facing entry, and with all the snow and cold we’ve been having, those burrows on that steep south face are the only ones that have the snow melted away.  It is sunny and windy today, but that spot is protected and warm.  Which was why Brer Rabbit was sunning himself right there in his own doorway.

In fact, that is the exact south facing warm spot where I will put my own upscale burrow.  I may name it Refugia.  Here’s hoping it is a better refuge for me than for Brer Rabbit.  I sure don’t want Brer Puma leaping off the hill and catching me unawares.

It is not easy being part of the food chain.

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in Circular Economy, food forest, permaculture, Prepper, rabbits, wildlife and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

