Fresh Seeds Are In

I managed to slip slide my way to the store yesterday and noticed the new seeds are in. Of course I lost a half hour viewing the latest offerings.

I bought Orange Tendersweet Watermelon, Longlasting Cilantro, Mammoth Russian Sunflower, White Spine Cucumber, Early Golden Acre Cabbage, and Early White Vienna Kohlrabi.

The watermelon is unlikely to do well here, but I love orange watermelon. I will start it early and hope for the best. If I get anything, I will save seed.

I am down to 2 gallons of Bolita Beans, and will plant extra this year.

In Texas I used Mammoth Russian Sunflower as a quick west screen until my shade tree filled in.  They are gigantic!  I have planted elderberries on the west side, but still need the temporary shade to keep the trailerstead cooler.  Mammoth Russian Sunflowers it is.

I was pleased to find a pickling cucumber, I have been out for several years and haven’t gotten around to buying more. Been a crazy few years.

Cilantro for Mexican food of course.  I have tomatillo seeds in my stash, but have been encouraging my wild ones to expand their area.  They are smaller, but good to eat.  They don’t need watered!  If I get more this year, I might add the domesticated ones in to see if they cross. Cilantro, tomatillo, onion, and dried Japanese chiles made a delicious salsa.  I cook the tomatillo on the griddle, and chop the rest.  This is so good added at serving to fresh boiled bolita beans that I wish it were summer right now!  Or Pinto beans.

I am looking forward to growing cabbage in my raised beds, I didn’t even try them in the ground with a zillion rabbits around here.  Hmmmm is there a reason I am not eating rabbit stew?  I think I need a rabbit hutch?  They are awful cute and keep me company to see what I am planting for “us” to eat.  They can’t get in my raised beds.

I usually order online, but haven’t done so yet.  I noticed that my local feed store was selling peanuts last year, apparently they do well here.  I am not much for peanuts, but might see how easy they are.  Heck, if it grows in the mountains, best to develop a taste for it.

Kohlrabi grows well in Seattle, but I haven’t tried it here.  Last year I grew more hot weather plants, but this year I will try more cool weather plants.

I have edibles in the house and have been planning a 3 foot cubby.  For some reason I haven’t considered my spare bedroom as a greenhouse.  I decided today that I will buy metal shelving and grow lights for that room.  Much more room, especially for growing seedlings for spring planting and salad fixings for winter.

I am dreaming of spring gardening and spring is not until May in these mountains!  Self control is hard when I have fresh seed packets in hand.

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in Circular Economy, food forest, gardening, permaculture, Prepper and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fresh Seeds Are In

  1. Helen says:

    Sort out that spare bedroom! I need to get indoor lettuce on the go. I also grow cress at this time of year which keeps me going for salad when there is not much else about 🙂

  2. I like cress too! Lettuce grows great inside all year round. Texas was so hot that lettuce loved the airconditioning. I want 20 times more plants than room.

Leave a Reply

