Pear Wine

Today I started 2 gallons of Pear Wine. A very simple recipe:

3 pounds ripe green D’Anjou pears chopped and mashed with potato masher
5 cups sugar
fill with warm water
stir to dissolve sugar
1/2 packet yeast, proofed

Now I will keep it between 60°F and 70°F for 3 to 5 weeks, until it nearly stops bubbling, as fermentation slows down. I will rack it to a second 2 gallon jar, filtering out the solids and leaving as much residue as possible. After that… bottling.

I did take care to remove all seeds and the blossom end. All seeds in the Rosaceae family have arsenic and it does accumulate in your body. I will pass on that. I recovered 19 nice seeds and set them aside to dry. In a few days I will pot them up for fruit tree seedlings.

The liquid from the pears is a pretty soft yellow reminiscent of homemade lemonade but… softer.  I don’t know if it will stay that color or not since I have no idea what I am doing here.  I hope it does.

In Hope of Pear Wine

In Hope of Pear Wine

Hooch making is clearly up to the little yeast guys, not me.  I purchased the pears for this experiment but have planted two pear trees uphill.  Once they start producing I will have a glut of pears.  Surely by them I will be so matter of fact about making wine I will hardly worry about it.  I might even have more equipment.

My food forest and its circular economy will provide well for me.  I will continue to plant more edibles, including little fruit trees grown from seed.

My second experiment in making hooch. Experiment one with hard cider is going well, it has been racked into jar two and is sitting nicely.

After I made the bread from the remnants of the hard cider, I had more left, very dense with living or dead yeast.  I put it in a flat pan to let it dry back into a powder.  I fed it a little sugar to keep it lively while it is drying out.  One thing you can count on New Mexico for is drying anything out.  In Seattle this would morph into a hairy gray-green monster and crawl across the floor to eat your dog.  Not kidding.

I waited for the pears to ripen before I started the hooch and the smell was intoxicating.  I hope the Pear Wine retains a measure of that scent.

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in Circular Economy, permaculture, plant uses, Prepper, wine/cider and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pear Wine

  1. Pingback: Pear Wine | treeseeddreaming – WORLD ORGANIC NEWS

  2. Brenda says:

    Pear wine is good at 6 months. ……terrific at a year!
    I was pleasantly surprised. I had only made wild grape wine. Lots of fun!

    • Thanks Brenda! I just added that to my pear wine notes. I must say it smells wonderful right this minute. I have yet to try grape wine. I bottled my hard cider today. We’ll see. I have no equipment, just 2 gallon glass jars with glass lids. The kind of burp out the CO2 now and again.

Leave a Reply

