Baked Wheat Bread

Just baked wheat bread using the remnant inch of apple cider.  I proofed it and had active yeast still. So… I used it to make bread. Waste not want not.

I had too much dough for just me so I formed both loaves and froze one before the last rising.  It will be good next week.  I did not butter this one before baking, it will be better as a crusty loaf.

It will become breakfast toast with hot cinnamon chocolate in the morning.

20160108_bread

I have baked bread most of my life, I learned from my mother who baked bread for my dad because he loved it so much. I have no recipes, I just throw anything together and get bread. My grandmother was like that too, but mom followed strict recipes. Anytime my dad showed up, grandma made a loaf of white bread for him. They were good buddies.

My dad got lung cancer and lived with me his last year. I baked him two loaves of bread every week and didn’t let my husband or the kids get into my dad’s bread. Lord that man loved homemade bread!

I snuck all kinds of nutrition into it, adding different grains, eggs, milk, raisins, dried apricots, honey, nuts and so on, especially because he lost his appetite.  He always drank buttermilk with his bread.  Admittedly I didn’t have to put prohibition on the buttermilk, nobody but me and dad would drink the stuff. Mmmmm good with a little salt and pepper in it.

After all was said and done my dad told me mom raised me right.  I still get weepy over that… even though it was just because I baked bread for him every week.  We went through a hard year, dad and I, while he wasted away from chemo and radiation treatments.  I was grateful he could enjoy the bread in between.

My husband was great through it all and spoiled dad as much as I did.  He and dad would go off on secret errands and we never knew what they got up to.

That’s what happens when you get a few years on you… everything has so many memories attached!

I am grateful dad was so adventurous and took us so many places.  That he taught me woodcraft and took me camping and told me stories.  He was a good father.  Of course I baked wheat bread for my dad!

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in Circular Economy, permaculture, Prepper and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Baked Wheat Bread

  1. Beautiful… touching.

Leave a Reply

