Brass Oil Lamps

Picked up two oil lamps at a thrift store. I wanted them because they are heavy brass and pretty… and lamps. They have a small vent hole in the top that equalizes air pressure.

20151228_200050

All open flames can cause fire in your house, so use caution.

I have never used oil lamps, but bought lamp oil to test them out.  Unfortunately the wicks that came with them are too large for the openings and I will probably order new wicks online.  I have cotton yarn and likely could make one to fit.

I have candles and solar lights for when I lose power, and got them out during the Goliath Blizzard, just in case.  The grid went down in places, but not at my house. It is good to be prepared, especially in the cold mountains where I live.

I also have gel fuel for heating when my electricity goes out.  They are nice and sometimes I use them just because they make the room cosy.  This winter I got a wall hanging electric fireplace which is pretty, too.

I will have a fire pit on my patio, just for making those marshmallows a perfect golden brown before I cook a steak over the flames.  Pinyon wood has a lovely scent when burned and I will pretend I am living in the woods, just like when I was a kid.

 

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in permaculture, Prepper. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

