Blizzard Through Tomorrow

This blizzard was supposed to start about 3 pm today. Here is what it looked like at 3 pm. when I went out to clear off snow in front of my door.  Trailerstead doors open out not in and are susceptible to blocking exit even with a 4×8 back porch cover.

20151226 blizzard01

It is about 6 inches and snowing heavily.  I am expected to get up to 20 inches by morning and wind gusts up to 50 mph making drifts 3-5 feet deep.  A fair amount of snow for here.

It is Saturday and I have no plans to go anywhere… the roads are already shut down.  It is 22°F and not expected to melt off quickly.

We may lose power and I have alternate heat and light out, and 20 gallons of water set aside.  Better ready than feeling around in the dark.

About 8 inches now and no wind yet.  I’ll pass on the winds if given the choice.  Take care!

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in permaculture, Prepper, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Blizzard Through Tomorrow

  1. Helen says:

    Sounds grim. We’ve managed not to get flooded so are okay but hope you will maintain power and keep warm.

  2. Thanks. I am about to post what it looks like now!

  3. Texas gets snow on the panhandle and the northern part. Once in a while southern parts get snow. They lost all their citrus trees one year.

Leave a Reply

