Hard Cider

I have never made cider or wine.  I got a simple wine recipe from an acquaintance online and also looked at both hard cider and wine recipes on the Internet.  I found a man who makes wine out of Kool Aid.  Hmmmmm.

I combined the easiest one with the first and today I started a 2 gallon glass container with a simple hard cider recipe. I wrote it down in case it works.  I have planted several fruit trees and an apple press is on my list, too. Still, I have never tried cider.

Historically, apple trees were the first things planted in the colonies to get enough apples for homemade hard cider.

Most of the apples used for cider were marginal apples not used for eating. Of course, there were as many recipes used as people making it. Can’t be too difficult, right?  Now, I know people have turned cider and wine into an art form.  This isn’t that.

So I bought Honeycrisp apple juice because I have a Honeycrisp tree. This may be the blandest hard cider ever made, but if it turns out to be hard cider, I can upgrade at will.

If any of you make really really simple wine or cider, please share!  My orchard is too young to produce much, but it will get their sooner than later.

I enjoy fresh fruit and have a cool storage area.  Apple butter is a favorite.  Frozen fruit is a boon for dessert making and fruit smoothies.  Jams and jellies are incomparable.  Sharing with friends and neighbors is good.  I used to share with poor families at church too.  Now I have a new garden and haven’t gotten to that overproduction stage.

After reading about DIY hooch, I wonder if it isn’t a little like making compost or home-baked bread.  In my Food Forest the little guys do all the heavy lifting if you give them a chance.  If you are Big Wine, please ignore my ravings.

I do have more room for fruit and I am ready to try hooch.  Would that turn this grammy into a hoochie mama?  Hahaha, a day late and a dollar short.

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in Circular Economy, crafts, food forest, fruit trees, gardening, permaculture, plant uses, Prepper, wine/cider and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

