Fresh Ginger (Zingiber officinale)

Ginger is one of those spices that is considered exotic but which has incomparable flavor. I started growing fresh ginger decades ago… because I grow things. Seriously, I picked that rhizome up in a grocery store because it was sprouting and I wanted to pot it up and see what happened. I was young. No internet.  Hick from the sticks.  God loves the lame.

Most ginger is imported in the US, but some is grown in Hawaii.  In recent years Virginia niche farmers are growing ginger in greenhouses and hoop tunnels.  They sell fresh baby ginger to chefs and mature ginger to all the rest.

Ginger likes mildly acidic, rich soil.  I have used compost mostly, but don’t have any at the moment.  They like full to partial shade, so do well inside.  Mine will sit atop my chest freezer and get east sun for maybe 2 hours.  It will also get additional warmth from the motor.

Beauty. These plants have exotic tropical blooms. I am still astonished when they bloom.

Once I started cooking in a wok, I discovered the entrancing flavor of fresh baby ginger when lightly stir fried in Asian cooking. Hard to believe they dug up those glorious flowers to cook the ugly, knobby roots, but we can be grateful.

I saw some ginger root the other day and bought it for a couple dollars a pound, but I didn’t need much.  I broke off a piece for stir fry, then broke the rest into 5 pieces with two or more eyes each.  I have been letting it dry a couple days so the breaks will callus over.  Then a warm soak to remove the anti sprouting chemicals.  Drain and plant shallow in a pot, not more than 2-3 inches deep.  It will quickly grow and add more rhizome.  It makes an easy houseplant.

It is gingerbread men time of the year.  Eat the head first so they cannot watch you nibbling their toes sez my granddaughter.   Eat the toes first and laugh maniacally as you bite chunks out of the little guys sez my grandson.  I start with the head; no witnesses to the crime sez I.

I am putting all five pieces in one pot (what I have available at the moment) and will size up later.  They need enough room to spread, about 1 foot each for maximum production, but not a deep pot.  Azalea pot is good.

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in Circular Economy, gardening, greenhouse, permaculture, plant uses, Prepper and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fresh Ginger (Zingiber officinale)

  1. I love ginger and would love to grow my own. I never thought of growing it in pots indoors.

Leave a Reply

