Winter is for Cooking and Knitting

Cold and windy but I went out anyway and moved one big stone with my utility cart. I uncovered the deadwood I had buried behind the stones a year ago, primo stuff.  I got 4 more Homer buckets of topsoil and deadwood into my 6×6 raised bed. Goodness, it is already settling down. Put one more thing into the truck for dumping. Baby steps.

So what does a gardener do all winter?  This one dreams and plans for next spring’s garden.  Now that I am retired, I will look at a few winter crafts, but the old standbys of cooking and knitting look good right now.

I found yummy looking recipes for cranberry apple pie and eggrolls. Probably not for the same meal. A couple items to buy in the market economy unless I can find a good recipe for eggroll wrappers.

I pulled out my seriously gigantic American Flag afghan for my grandson. He asked for this, folks, and it is about twin blanket size. Yep, he wanted it that big. As much as I love my country, our flag is boring to knit. He wanted seed stitch to make it thicker and warmer. What would make a Grammy agree to such a thing? Oh yeah… a grandchild.

I already made a standard afghan for my grandaughter, with lacy stitches. Very girly. Now she wants a super size thick afghan for watching movies.

Then my handsome son wants one too and told the granddaughter it is his turn. I told my son he needs to turn the thermostat up a degree or three for movie night.

Luckily my daughterinlaw has a super size crocheted afghan from her grandma and is well set up.  She is too smart to take up knitting but is flirting with quilting.  Her sister is an awesome quilter and willing to show her.

I most likely will make my son’s afghan next.  He wants a black and brown wool tweed.  Very manly of course.  I might do a simple rib which is handsome in a tweed and warm.  Nobody is dearer to my heart than my son.  Black and brown tweed it is.

For my own, I have bunches of cream wool and want to make a cable knit.  I offered him that one but he scoffed at cream.  Not manly sez he.

Knitting is by far the warmest and cosiest of pastimes for winter evenings.  My mom taught me to knit when I was shorter than my grandkids and we used to knit together while watching movies.  When she had cancer and was bedridden in my house for two years, I sat with her in the evenings and crocheted a granny square afghan in vivid jewel tones and black edges.  Pretty in a stained window way.  As I finished each one, she crocheted them together.  It was our last project together.  Now I knit alone, but sure seems like mom is still there.  Feels homey.

I used to make sweaters and such, but during the stress years before I retired I backed down to simple afghans I just make up.

I can knit and plan next year’s projects.  One of which would be French Angora rabbits.   I have a knitting shop here that has a knitting group that I attend now and again.  One of the gals will teach me how to spin yarn if I find a wheel.  Another has lamas that she shears and has spun commercially.

I read that angora spins easily on a drop spinner.  First, rabbits!  Rabbits make more droppings to enrich my gardens.  Meat if hungry.  Mostly for beautiful angora yarn that is incredibly warmer than wool.  I could knit winter booties for cold feet if I mixed it with wool.

Rabbits reproduce so quickly that you can get as much as 80 pounds of meat from a doe.  I haven’t decided about meat rabbits, just don’t want the Flemish or California giant ones.   I have not raised rabbits since I was a kid, but don’t remember it being hard.  Chickens are easy, I imagine rabbits are too.  They can also eat from the Food Forest and will certainly provide a source of protein for me and the Little Guy.  Fiber too.

Stay warm.

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in chicken m, Circular Economy, crafts, food forest, permaculture, Prepper, rabbits and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

