Baby Steps Forward

Still chilly and windy today.  Went outside to continue preparing my raised bed and general preparation for both tearing down my carport and building my earth bermed small house.  Even working, the chill got through coat and gloves.  Maybe I will go out again, maybe not.

I dug 6 Homer buckets of soil to spread over my 6×6 vegetable bed.  The top inch of soil is already frozen, so not much longer for digging.

Then I used 2 large trash bags of pine bark needles as mulch on my blueberry bed, which got 2 bags out of the carport.

I moved 8 rocks away from the low wall on the north side of my proposed earth bermed house and used them to expand the retaining wall for my pinyon-plum tree guild. I need to remove about 2x2x12 feet of soil after shifting the berming rocks out.  I want this material in use elsewhere before builders come in with heavy equipment.

I shifted one flat rock to my pathway steps.  It was originally a slope and treacherous when icy or wet.  My first summer I cut out two steps and used stone edges and crusher fines like the pathway.   Not solid enough but less treacherous.  As I have been shifting rocks around, I paved step one with 2″ thick rocks from my property.  It is now solid and looks good. Today I shifted one 2″ thick rock from the berm to step two.  I am moving on that project like a house afire!

Seriously, in a haphazard way I have made about 40 feet of rock lined path filled with crusher fines… and two steps.  I scout out rocks uphill for edging.  I might not have started it at all, but ripped the rotten carpet out of my house and it is stored in strips in the carport awaiting use.  Reduce, reuse, recycle is not the fastest way but it keeps a lot out of landfills.

Last, I moved a couple things to my pickup for a trip to the dump.

Baby steps forward.

Fresh boiled beans with a ham hock for rich flavor is ready for lunch.  Add hot cornbread on the side.  I eat like the peasant that I am.  That should warm me up.

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in Circular Economy, food forest, gardening, home, permaculture, Prepper and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

