Can the UK Feed itself?

I just took a quick look at the UK and saw that corporations are importing 40 percent of your food. Underneath the hype is that corporations buy from slave labor countries instead of local producers. They kept the bulk of the difference and undercut local producers just enough to grind them down.  Prices of fruits and vegetables have spiked anyway with profits going in corporate pockets and fewer alternatives every year.

So corporations are outsourcing UK food self-sufficiency as well as US food self-suffiency.  One world kills sovereignty.

Corporations that shifted UK agriculture to monoculture, heavy equipment, massive debt, and poisons are now abandoning the farmers that followed them down the yellow brick road.

Monoculture cries for pesticides because soil depletion weakens plants and food from depleted soil weakens human beings.  Smaller farms with more variety can enrich soil and provide healthier food.

Households with gardens are decreasing rapidly, but 90% of households still have gardens attached.  Bad news is that only a third of London front yards are gardened, the rest are hard surfaced.

Nevertheless, I think the UK can feed itself.  I think biointensive methods would work well.  Ruth Stout’s No Work mulching method would work (my personal favorite), Permaculture, Tree Guilds, or Forest Farming are all methods I have used depending on how much dirt I had available.  I have produced quite a bit on a balcony.

Households can plant dwarf fruit trees and fruiting shrubs now even though it takes a few years to produce.  I suggest dwarf for variety and ease of harvest.  In dry areas, deeper roots are better for survival and trees don’t mature to full height anyway.  I like to grow things that are not so cardboard as corporate foods that are shipped long distances.  So much flavor has been lost.

I encourage UK residents to push back on corporate control of their food by gardening with heirloom varieties and leave Monsanto in the dust.  Plant a few hummingbird favorites because they eat their weight in insects.

I planted kiddie delights in my front yard for my kids and the neighbor kids.  Dolgo Crabapples, Mulberries (keep it cut down to shrub size for short people, no climbing), Oregon Grapes, Blueberries, Rosehips, and so on.  I put the family garden in the back garden.  If you cannot feed the neighbor kids, a white picket fence will do.

I wish you luck in the UK.  It seems we are all in it together.

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in Circular Economy, food forest, fruit trees, gardening, insect control, plant uses, tree guilds, wildlife and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Can the UK Feed itself?

  1. Helen says:

    We certainly are in it together. We don’t have any hummingbirds but we do have lots of other useful birds and gardeners friends, though sadly because of bad farming practices they are on the decline.

  2. Pingback: Can the UK Feed itself? | treeseeddreaming | WORLD ORGANIC NEWS

Leave a Reply

