Concrete Block Habitat for Sagebrush Lizards (Sceloporus graciosus)

I built a dry stack concrete block enclosure around my patio this summer along with a raised bed from block for my four blueberry bushes (not from here, need work).  I am dry stacking under and around my trailerstead because I have little space and am storing the block for my small home that I intend to start next summer.

Another advantage of the 2 foot tall bed is that it skirts and berms my trailerstead with concrete and soil for protection against severe cold.

In addition it is a dog run for my small Papillon, with afternoon shade and some protection from larger predators (if he is smart enough to use it).

For all that thought and planning, I missed the benefit of a dramatic increase in the number of Sagebrush Lizards around my house.  They have gone to sleep now (snow tomorrow) even though I am still outside moving the last of my blocks and increasing their habitat for next spring.

Lizards are an important part of the circular economy in a Food Forest because they eat flies, spiders, termites, ants, crickets, beetles, grasshoppers, and so on. That (free to me) service keeps me out of the market economy and not tempted to douse my food with poison.

After I created concrete block habitat for lizards next to my house, they decimated insects in my garden.  They not only keep insect pests out of my garden, they are themselves a big draw to predators.

I saw my first Roadrunner on my property when he hopped up on my block fence and (looked me straight in the eye before he) snatched a lizard and ran.  Even coyotes will snatch a lizard, but usually birds, smaller mammals, snakes, chickens, and the dreaded cats.

My Papillon eats one now and again, but is entertained for hours chasing them around the patio. They will stand their ground just out of reach and bait the silly dog.  Still, he catches them just enough to keep him going.  The excitement keeps him from getting bored and destructive in an 11 by 21 enclosure.  I suppose that makes them doggy sitters too.

Who would have thought storing concrete blocks in a useful way would find so many uses?

I have used stones to create berms and such on other parts of my property and have seen Sagebrush Lizards move right in to the nooks and crannies before I am done building.  None of these are close to my house and none seem to have as many lizards as my concrete block habitat.  They are hollow and provide good cover.  Then again, I live close enough to discourage some predators.

The Internet sez… that they are not poisonous to humans.  I have not fried one up but will keep that in mind.

The funniest thing is that they get close to me and do their push up dance.  Turns out that is part of their mating ritual.  Hahaha… I know I am flattered by the bitty heathens! Making laughter being the last but not least contribution of building concrete block habitat for Sagebrush Lizards.

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in Circular Economy, food forest, insect control, wildlife and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

