East Solar Heater Improved Comfort

I went outside to move blocks (58 and counting) this morning just as the sun hit my east window solar heater. I was out 30 minutes and came in to a five degree increase. Yay! I love the power of New Mexico winter sunshine (free to me).

I expect 2 days of rain and snow and still have 5 plants to figure out where to plant. Terra cotta pots disintegrate here in the winter. Darn, they are my favorite… not so fancy as pretty ceramic but visually well suited to a mountain cabin. I am considering making pots from tree trunks but would also like to make them from stone.  Home Depot has been selling plastic wood Kontiki planters.  I want mine to be wood bears.  Maybe some day.

My temperature increased another two degrees while sitting here writing.  If it gets too hot (wishful thinking) I can always run the exhaust fan for a few minutes.  Last year I let it get in the upper 70s during the day and only turned the heat on when it dissipated between 8 and 10 pm.  This winter is supposed to be colder than usual so I may just enjoy the added warmth.  I do love the morning warmth, it adds several hours to my (free to me) solar heat.

A friend of mine reminded me yesterday that this is not “pretty” in the window.  I say fancy it up.  Cover the side facing your room with anything that floats your boat.  Fabric, wood, paint, wallpaper scraps, hang a quilt in front of it or sew Mylar into a cafe curtain.

I want a faux Japanese shoji screen but haven’t done that yet.  Too busy moving concrete blocks and gardening in the summer.

The main thing is to get (free to me) heat in the house because the New Mexico sun is an integral part of my Food Forest and it shines through my 10 foot south window making a mini greenhouse.  It is part of my circular economy when it shines through my east and west windows as a solar heat source amplified by a simple device.

What about my cold north window?  I got a tip from a coworker who once was a custom draper.  She made quilted panels for hanging inside the window frame on tension rods to keep out winter cold.  You can leave them off on sunny days and pop them in at night.

Last year I made panels for three bedroom windows.  Instead of quilting I recycled plain navy terrycloth towels.  They are already up in my bedrooms at night this winter.

I will work on my quilt again this winter and have endless small matching triangles left over.  Have not decided what to do with them but could make matching quilted window panels for my bedroom.  I know I need another project on my endless list!

When you live in a 2×2 stud mobile home made in the market economy, you do what you gotta do.

Remember that drafty stone castles hung tapestries to keep out the cold.  The ladies spent considerable time making them beautiful.  They wore floor length capes inside for warmth!  I will take an upscale burrow over a drafty castle any day.

My boss built a display wall using a thin deep gray carpet that looked like felt to back it.  Looked great.  Reminded me of the 60s and seeing orange shag carpet on walls in old houses… but prettier.

I have enough pallets to make a pallet wood wall in the bathroom on the cold west exterior wall.  They are hard to tear apart.  I also saw a Tiny House with tar paper and wood strips of underneath a pallet wood wall.  It was lovely, but the woman who built it said it was more work than she would want to do again even on a Tiny House.  Could a 2×2 frame stand up to the weight?  Not likely.

Winter dreaming about an upscale burrow all snug underground.

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in Circular Economy, food forest, home, Solar and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

