Off the Grid or Independence?

I lived off the grid for nearly a year in Texas. I highly recommend it. It gives you a quick lesson in how dependent we are on thousands of people and technology to provide for our basic needs, on the market economy.

Off the Grid doesn’t mean off the market economy dependency, however, it is just a different form of the same.

When the power goes out I have six solar lights that I bring inside for general illumination. I used solar lights that way when off grid but they are pretty high tech. I also have candles which provide light and heat… I have a tea maker that runs on tea lights, but the tea lights and tea maker are made by the market economy and the herbal teas are made by me.

Washed clothing is always drip dried even though washed by machines built by the market economy.  Even my grandmother’s old wringer washer was made by the market economy.

I gave up television nearly 40 years ago because I worked full time and spent evenings and weekends with my son.  We talked to each other, did chores together, played games, listened to music, and read books.  I am glad he limits TV time and talks to his children.  So I didn’t miss TV when I was off grid.

I kept my cell phone with its internet and charged it on my truck battery.  I love my truck, telephone and internet, all made by the market economy.

Off the grid only means not plugged in to the electric company and water company.  But every item we buy is created by the market economy that is plugged in to both.

My life is fairly simple as those things are measured in the US, but I am fully dependent on others to create things I use every day.  Could I live like Paleo woman?  Probably.  I would sure want an easy transition if I had to, not cold turkey lost buck nekkid in the wilderness.

Even my Food Forest is maintained by plants and animals more than by me although I contribute.  We are woven together into a circular economy and every life is needed to keep it going.

Perhaps our general dissatisfaction with the market economy that produces so many marvels is its insistence that we are not integral, we are disposable.  Of course that is a delusion enjoyed by those at the top, because our market economy requires millions of people to create and millions of people to enjoy it’s fruits.  All attempts to hog the fruits of our combined labor breaks the circle and it collapses.  Must be some relationship between delusions and hogging.

In any event I am humbly thankful to the million people who create the things I use in my life.  I wish them happiness and satisfaction in their lives.

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in Circular Economy, food forest, Solar and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

