Plumbing Thingies

I have the simplest plumbing problem to fix under my kitchen sink. I have not fixed it yet, but I have shut the water off to my entire house.

The plumbing guy said I can call and he will give instruction by phone. Problem is I don’t have the vocabulary to discuss it over the phone. Thingie is not the name of every plumbing part.

So I have gone over there three times to use their stuff as visual aids to conversation with the plumbing guy… this thingie and that thingie.

My first two trips brought home the wrong thingies.

This evening I brought home what I believe is the exact 63 cent thingie I needed in the first place. I am just too frazzled to try it out!

Plumbing has been my worst home chore since I bought my first house.  My backyard faucet would not work and I dug the clay soil around it just to “look” at the problem.  That good old Texas clay was all that held that pipe together and it came off in my hand.

The broken pipe geysered straight into my face because… I did not turn the water off at the street because… I did not have the key to the cover.

I ran to the plumbing store to buy a key.  When I got home I had a lake in the back.  I shut the water off and called a plumber.  He was not happy about the lake thingie.

I just know I am going to handle this plumbing thingie better this time.

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in home and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

