Herbal Teas for Me

Once dated this old boy that was crazy for market economy supplements. Spent considerable sums of money on them, he was a Believer.  He even went to this other old boy that tested him for nutrient deficiencies every year.

He could not quit nagging me about taking supplements and getting tested. Finally, he dragged over to get tested and paid for it himself. Imagine.

The tests came back and showed that I did not have nutrient deficiencies. What the heck!

Market economy supplements are mostly excreted as waste into our sewer systems and recycled into our drinking water as a wasteland of supplement chemicals, antibiotics, psychotropic drugs, pain killers, a drug cocktail that is more complex and stronger every year.

Instead of supplements, I have wild edibles that are nutrient dense, and I dry wild foods and herbs for winter teas.  Herbal teas were more common years ago and are traditionally made from garden herbs and plants from nearby wild places.

All winter hot teas warmed cold hands and bodies. They also provided a broad range of nutrients to preserved foods. Women who gathered a wide range of plant material to dry for winter teas kept their families healthy during long winters with no fresh foods available.

Fruits and herbs have a rich flavor that is concentrated by drying and are redolent with the odor of the plants they come from.  Rehydrated with hot water for tea, they envelope you with scented steam.  The hot steamy drink warms to the bones.

Every fruit and herb you can pick and dry for winter brings you nutrients and phytonutrients to keep you and your family healthy all winter long.

A gentle tea delivers nutrition at a rate that our bodies accept.  Teas contain only what you add to them and store well in glass containers.  They allow my Food Forest to nurture me all winter long even when snow is on the ground.  Best of all, they are free to me.

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in Circular Economy, food forest, plant uses, wild edibles and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

