Pineapple Sage (Salvia elegans)

I had this outside in a medium pot this summer. It was one of my favorite herbs in Texas. It gets 3-4 feet tall and has stunning watermelon red blooms. It’s pineapple flavor is delicious in hot or cold drinks and the blooms are beautiful in a green salad. I like them in fruit salad too. Sadly, it will not winter over past zone 7.

I miss it as part of my herb garden and generally I tuck one in my herb garden and several in the flower beds.  It is a phenomenal hummingbird attractor and I love hummingbirds just because.  Tuck Pineapple Sage close to roses since the hummingbirds eat their weight in insects every day and aphids are a favorite of theirs.  Keeping hummingbirds in your garden for insect control is important for a circular economy they keep down insects without poison.  Hummingbirds are very susceptible to poisons so don’t use them.

Bees visit Pineapple Sage.  I have gardened around them for 50 years and have never suffered a bee sting.  I don’t move very fast and don’t seem to make them threatened.  This is not advice about bees!  I always have so many bee favorites that maybe they are just too fat happy and drunk on nectar to get aggressive with me.

Pineapple Sage is an evergreen in warmer climates and can bloom throughout the winter for our southern neighbors.   So… I brought it inside to see if it will winter over in my house.  Would be lovely if it also provides me with winter greens for tea. I could get ecstatic if it chooses to bloom in my house.

Okay okay okay… this isn’t a greenhouse. I will be content if it gets through the winter and contributes a bit of fresh greens to my supper.

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in Circular Economy, food forest, gardening, insect control, plant uses, wildlife and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

