A Time to be Content

Stormed much of today and last night. I love the water and watched my potted plants soak it up. My plants thrive on rainwater and decline on tap water. I worry about drinking tap water if it is so poor for plants.

I worked inside today, mostly standard home stuff but I sealed my exhaust fan to keep the warm air inside this winter.

I spent time looking out the windows and up the hill just enjoying having a dry home (however humble) and pleased to remember working on a few projects during the short summer. Looking forward to the winter planning season and to warmer days that I can be outdoors. In spite of snow and ferocious winds, we have some beautiful days as well.

Winter is good for starting trees and shrubs from seed in my south window.  I start a few every year and give many away.  This year I will try tree cholla, wild plums, and Mandarin oranges.

I still have 3 golden rain tree seedlings from last year, pretty little things with edible foliage… it is turning color now and I want to nibble before it’s leaves fall.

My dragon cacti are in the window and growing.

Time to bring the date palms back inside, I will take care of that tomorrow morning.  They are cold hardy to just below freezing but no need to push it.

A relaxing day overall and a time to remember that the circular economy drowses the winter away.  The Roman God Janus looked backward and forward and represented new beginnings and transitions.  I look both directions this day and I am content.


 

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in Circular Economy, gardening, home and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

