Keeping the Circular Economy Moving

It seems like I got lost this summer.

My job in the market economy pushed me hard, no lunch breaks, working extra days because we were short handed, all the normal market economy things.

I furthered my circular economy goals bit by bit.  I added Oregon Grape (Mahonia repens) last year and 2 of 3 survived.  I grabbed a few seeds in the spring and one sprouted.  I will plant it near the other two in early spring; it is 6 inches tall now.  Like bearberry, it is a major wildlife food.

My free trees from The National Arbor Day Foundation are doing well in large pots.  I planted a couple on the hill, but it was so crazy in the market economy I haven’t gone to see if they survived.  The crabapples are especially nice in large pots because they stay small.  I do have one red maple and am looking for a good spot for it.

I bought 4 more Elderberries (Sambucus neomexicana)  since last year’s bush is doing well.  They are in big pots and will get planted soon.  They all bloomed well and I got berries from all of them.  The birds got most of them, but my share will increase as they get larger.  Their flowers are gorgeous.

I also got blackberries and raspberries.   I will put strawberries in my raised bed with the Top Hat blueberries.  These are about 2 feet tall.  I have a pollinizer in a big pot, but can’t remember the variety off hand.  None of them like my alkaline tap water, so I add a bit of vinegar to push it to neutral.  I had a lot of rain this year and that kept them happy.

My prickly pear are adding pads, yay!  Stephanie said she will send seeds, sweet. I did not scrounge more pads this summer, but would like a prickly pear barrier on my 300 foot frontage road.  Maybe seeds will cover that area.

I prefer perennials even though their lead time is longer.  Work can be demanding and perennials thrive on neglect better than annuals.  As I get older, neglect happens more often.

My 4 Golden Chain Trees from seed are doing well and will stay in my window until spring.

Nevertheless, I had more tomatoes this year because I only grew cherry style.   I came close to having enough to share.  I kept them in pots all summer.  They were 2 feet tall in the kitchen window before I planted them out, so bigger than last year.

Onions, potatoes, asparagus, peppers, and zucchini rounded it out a bit.  Every year sees additional richness.

My girls are good layers.  I did give away eggs this year!    I put the worm bin in with them for warmth.  Oops.  No visible worms this month, so I dumped the castings and soil in my raised.  Perhaps eggs will hatch.

My iris grew well this year but no blooms yet.   I look forward to them in the spring.  I collected seed from a gorgeous purple penstemon this year, seeds are out!  I planted them close to the house to attract hummingbirds.  They eat endless bugs and I need their free (to me)  labor.  I had scarlet penstemons come up from prior  seeding, beautiful.

As I said, work was a big demand this year and getting just before dark did not leave much time.  Still, I did pretty well and ate enough of my own produce to make a dent in my corporate food consumption.  I am committed to growing more food even in this harsh climate.

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

