Redbud (Cercis canadensis)

I put the Redbud seeds in soil to sprout. Although most sources only mention eating the flowers, I eat the green pods and dried seeds.

This beautiful bloomer has just enough shade to grow lovely flowers underneath in the fierce Texas sun. Does it fix nitrogen? I have seen claims from both sides. The heart shaped leaves are attractive all summer and make good mulch in the garden beneath. The mulch quickly decomposes to enrich the soil.

I like trees that produce food. Their deep root systems and generous supply of compost make them easy to grow and a substantial gift of food to the larder provides health all winter long. Again, I appreciate the edible beans provided by bean family (Fabaceae) trees. So much easier than annuals.

A lucky addition to my food forest, since my chickens will also appreciate the dried seeds. Perhaps I will plant a Redbud seedling to shade their run and provide food… I keep adding to my circular economy, and like seeing the new plants fill empty spaces. I noticed how well my prickly pear pads are filling in and looking for many tunas next fall. My asparagus should be ready for eating next year. I should have a few apples, blackberries, and raspberries.

Each year gets richer. I want honeybees… if any are available. I have a rich variety of nectar now. I promise I won’t stress them with moving, toxins, etc. but I will steal a bit of honey!

My mustard plant seeds are drying nicely, too. I look forward to spicier meals all winter.

Started lentil sprouts today. A bit of water in a jar and drop in the seeds. I should have sprouts in three days. They are wonderfully nutricious for me and my chickens. I will add a jar every day until they sprout and each one cup jar has about 1/4 cup of lentils.

Life is good in a circular economy.

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in chicken m, Circular Economy, food forest, gardening, plant uses, Uncategorized, wild edibles and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

