I am Dreaming of a Pit Greenhouse

I have contacted my building code department to see if I can get a permit to build a pit greenhouse variant in the half circular cutout on my hill.  The hill was cut out long ago to create a flat place to park a mobile home.

The greenhouse would snug into the hillside next to my root cellar and be underground on three sides.  The existing mobile home blocks the fierce winter winds.  Being underground mimics what most mammals do in the winter, go to ground and let mother earth keep them warm… that and tiny homes that stay warm on body heat.

I would make the front out of stabilized adobe (mother’s earth) which would absorb the hot west sun and release that heat at night. Also connect the front to the root cellar door.  Post and beams from my property.  Out to the market economy for translucent roof panels, of course.  I have a black wood stove made by a welder for $100.  I will store downspout water for plant use.

Whoa buddy. Better find out what Santa Fe County thinks, before I get too far down the path of dreams.

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in Circular Economy, design, gardening, Solar, water and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

