Grasses are Edible (Cereals)

The most famous grasses are rice, wheat, and corn.  The staff of life for us and for many grazing animals. You may think it is too hard to raise your own bowl of porridge and, besides, those grains are GMOs now, right?

The grass (Poaceae) family has over 10 thousand species; and grasslands cover over 20% of this beautiful world’s land mass and that is increasing every year with deforestation.  Grasses weave around other plants even in my pinyon-juniper food forest.

Great news because grass seeds are edible and filling your bowl with porridge is just a matter of harvesting the seeds of whatever grasses grow in your area.

I have been harvesting grass from my yard and feeding it to my chickens and worms.  I also harvest and use grsss seed for myself.

I have an electric grinder that turns seeds into a nutricious flour that I sometimes add to my bread.  It is the original whole grain bread and quite tasty.  You can also use a stone mortar and pestle for small amounts, it breaks the seeds and makes them easier to digest.  I admit I prefer the texture from the mortar, but don’t always take the time.

No Roundup in my garden!  Poisoning edible plants only happens in a market economy.  My circular economy uses and recirculates.

Once you identify and eat grass seeds, grasses start disappearing from your flower/vegetable beds.  I start missing them.  With five acres, I  may have to go farther afield, but will always have cereal grains to eat.

Starvation?  Not necessary in this luscious garden called Gaia.

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in chicken m, food forest, gardening, plant uses, Uncategorized, wild edibles, worms and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

