Worms… yum

The little ladies seemed too hungry when I went in to feed them today.  I pulled some more Kochia scoparia for them since they stripped the last ones to the stalk.

I checked the worm bin for status on my worm population.  Looked good.  I pulled a half dozen to feed the ladies.  I was afraid they might insist on having them chopped.

They liked whole wiggly wòrms just fine and ran all around with them making a gourmand moan of delight.

I enjoyed watching them and like knowing that the worms are processing my kitchen garbage into rich soil amendments for my vegetable garden.  They endlessly reproduce and provide protein for my chickens that I will never have to buy in the market economy.

What is considered a weed in the market economy is a nutritious green for my chickens in the circular economy of my food forest.  No weed killers wanted here!  I will solar dry some Scopia this week and save it in large glass jars as a feed supplement for the chickens this winter.

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in chicken m, Circular Economy, food forest, plant uses, Solar, wild edibles, worms and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

