Hummingbirds for Insect Control

Like most people I enjoy watching hummingbirds.

Unlike most people, I realize that hummingbirds are your best weapon against aphids on roses.  Even if my favorite roses are not hybrid tea roses, but species roses that produce rose hips, they all attract aphids and caretaker ants.  Hummingbirds eat aphids and ants.

Hummingbirds eat other soft bodied insects including mosquitoes, gnats, and spiders.

Our native penstemons are my best nectar plants for hummingbirds. I now have a good stand of lovely pale blue Crandall Penstemons (Penstemon crandallii).

I collected seed from a Scarlet Bugler (Penstemon barbatus) last year but haven’t planted them yet. The parent plant has constant visits from hummingbirds and would be wonderful close to a window.

As much food as hummingbirds need, it is amazing  they survive.  They are easily poisoned by eating insecticides on flowers and insects.

Poisons are so prevalent today that many insects have developed resistence to them. No insect has ever developed resistance to being eaten by a hungry hummingbird, and no pesticide in your dinner.  Better to create a circular economy in your food forest that has sustainable practices.

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in Circular Economy, gardening, insect control, wildlife and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

