Chickens Eat Greens

Cleaned the little ladies’ coop today. They are getting braver with me, walking by and brushing against my bare legs. Not sure what that means in chicken-speak but it seems friendly enough.

I took my dog Raven Black in for a visit afterwards. This time I let him down and kept him on the leash. He did not lunge at them and wagged his tail a lot. They were not buying in to that. They are watching us as closely as we are watching them.

The girls show a preference for fresh greens. Today I pulled Summer Cypress (Kochia scoparia) and gave it to them. Kochia is good sheep forage, but no sheep in my garden!  Most people consider Kochia to be a weed, but they are valuable as part of the circular economy on my property.

I mostly pull Kochia and use it as mulch around my fruit trees. It shades the soil and composts quickly, preserving moisture during these hot days. It is best to feed chickens greens you want them to eat when they free range and don’t encourage eating your preferred vegetables.

I also picked Mealy Goosefoot (Chenopodium incanum) and had that with my pork chop for lunch. I sauteed onions with the chop and dropped the Goosefoot in at the last. If I collect the seeds, they make delicious sprouts or can be ground and added to bread flour for a nutritional boost. Probably not this year, I am encouraging them to grow next to the asparagus bed.  Not sure yet what flowers I will put in front them.

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in chicken m, Circular Economy, food forest, fruit trees, gardening, wild edibles and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

