Worms for Dinner?

Oh boy, worms are edible. I got worms.

Are we responding appropriately to the likelihood of collapse of unsustainable corporate farming?

I am starting to see articles touting edible insects as a cure for world hunger.  Two billion people already sustain most of their protein needs with insects.  I certainly would eat insects and worms if necessary. Is it necessary?

7 billion people is a lot, but do we have 7 billion in the United States? We have around 320 million. We have plenty of room for beef, at least in my ‘hood. Big cities, though…

Even in Dallas I had an inner city home with a garden big enough to feed my small family with surplus for others. Winters warm enough for some type of fresh produce all year. You only need one gardener per family, it is a delightful thing for many people.  I didn’t have a food forest but I did have a couple tree guilds based on beautiful pecan and fruit trees.

Small scale meat production looks like chickens or rabbits. One doe rabbit can produce 80 pounds of meat a year. My 3 little ladies will produce 600 eggs or more every year.  Enough for me and others.  If I add a rooster daddy it becomes the neverending meat and egg production cycle. This is the circular economy. No fear of starvation here.

Are Americans really too lazy to feed themselves and family members like media suggests? Could Americans be endlessly exhausted due to economic fear and poor diet?

I made my decision long ago. Then again I enjoy the process of gardening as well as the fruits. Every year in a new garden my soil gets richer and my produce better.  I add more delicacies and play with varieties.

Completing the circular economy in a natural way is soft on the planet and soft on me.

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in chicken m, Circular Economy, food forest, fruit trees, gardening, insect control, tree guilds, worms and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

