It is Hot Outside!

Summer is here and my garden loves it. I have an Amaranth salad planned for dinner… garnished with cherry tomatoes, baby zucchini, and chives.

I wilt from the heat, still, even though I am long gone from my native Pacific Northwest. Although I have read many articles on summer cooling, I seldom see mentioned the best non-refrigerated system I have ever used.

I bought a modest older home in north Texas, intending to renovate it on a shoestring.  A late spring closing with a few cruel and unusual closing costs left my son and I proud owners of a home (and yard for play) without airconditioning. This Pacific Northest gal never regretted buying her first home, but no A/C in Texas, really?

In exploring this little wooden hot box, I flipped a wall switch in the hallway and discovered The Whole House Fan.

Centrally located in the ceiling, its louvers opened up and it started exhausting hot air into the attic. I gawped at it in shocked amazement for a few minutes, then ran into my bedroom on the north side of the house to let in fresh, much cooler air. It dropped the temperature 20 degrees in a few minutes.

The air movement throughout the house cooled our skin without having to stand in front of a small circulating fan.

We survived that summer in tees, shorts, and thongs and moved slower than molasses, but we survived. On a later old house remodel, my son’s friend gigged him on no A/C when we moved in… he responded that we had central heat in the summer and central air in the winter, as God intended.

Something to think about.

I live in the mountains of New Mexico now and my hot days are relieved by deliciously cool nights. Every afternoon into evening I use my swamp cooler on the roof as a whole house fan.

I am dreaming of my cabin with a shade tree on the west side and a whole house fan.  Every August I will slow down to molasses speed and eat frozen fruit pops.

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in design, gardening, wild edibles and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

