Reduce, Reuse, Recycle – Kitchen

I love a well designed kitchen.  I like to cook from raw ingredients, from scratch as they say (whatever’s in the cupboard).  Baking bread is the best aromatherapy.

My kitchen was not well designed.  Not the worst, but surely not for anyone who… cooks.

I finally noticed a way to improve my kitchen without a 3k dump back into the market economy.  Keep in mind that an older mobile home does not constitute a good investment in the market economy.  It does serve me in creating my circular economy.

How then can I make it more serviceable and more attractive?  Without spending much cash?

Removing an old propane range that butts up against and denies access to nearly 3 feet of cabinets and counter helps with both appearance and workability.  I already removed propane, but couldn’t manage to give away this ugly and not fully functional range/microwave combo.  I might… dismantle it and create an outdoor cooktop with the only part that works, or turn it in to our recycling center.

Voila!  I opened access to a 10 foot counter with sink in the middle.  That is at least a good working surface.  Refrigerator is to the right… it works.

Opposite is a pantry.  I added a 4 foot work surface with my induction cooktop.  Sweet!  I now have a galley kitchen in a classic triangle.  I cooked last night and it is comfortable.

A few refinements to come.  Add exhaust fan, paint cabinets, replace broken drawer glide and light fixture, and a new faucet.  Change light switch for switch/plug combo.  Make new curtains.

I already started painting with leftovers from another project. How did the market economy ever convince anyone that compressed sawdust covered with a photograph of wood was worth purchasing?  I got it free with my land, no extra charge.

I want a beautiful hand made cabin; however, I choose to wait until I pay off my land.

My confidence is not in phantoms.

 

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in design and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

