Three Sisters

Variations of the “three sisters” combination of corn, beans, and squash have been planted by various First Nation people for centuries.

I have started a traditional three sisters mound including 12 corn plants, 12 bolita bean plants, 3 summer squash plants, and 3 winter squash plants.  I’ll see how it goes.

I started all indoors, and planted today because the night temperatures are firmly in the 50s and it rained for about 30 minutes.  I find that planting immediately before it rains is the best start for my plants.

Now that it rained, I will watch for my sunflowers and row beans to  sprout. Onions and potatoes are good.

Not a large garden this year, but I will increase each year as manageable.

The three ladies are dwarfed by their coop.  All three are Plymouth Barred Rock but I would like to have some Dominique a/k/a Dominekers.  They are uncommon so I will test my skills and habitat first, so to reduce my chances of losing an important bloodline.

My east porch is edged with vegetable pots, but I also have a sweet peach blooming miniature rose peeking out.  I bought it for $2 right after Valentine’s Day, and kept it in my south window until two weeks ago.  It has now made the transition from greenhouse to outdoors.  A food forest needs a little rose by the door, this food forest still needs a few wild roses for hips and beauty.

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in chicken m, gardening and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

