Kerfluffle with a Flying Lady

I opened the box to check the ladies and one flew right outa there. Instead of grabbing her, I dove for Raven Black and locked him in the bedroom.

He is still mad at me. Better than me being mad at him for killing my chicken. I hold a grudge longer.

The chicken got behind the stove.

What’s a girl to do? I am not as fast moving as a chicken, so that contest is out it would just give this flying girl the big head. I got her familiar water container and food dish, then sat next to them and read a book. I started tapping my fingernail on the bowl, sounds just like little ladies eating.

Pretty soon she came out to get her share. A bit of back and forth before I could pick her up. Of course that made her scream in panic so I held her quietly until she got over that.

Back in the secured box with her sisters. Raven Black has already forgiven me for locking him out of the excitement.  All is well.

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in chicken m and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

