Early Harvest

I have some Japanese Brome (Bromus japonicus) in my flower beds.

Brome was imported from Eurasia to feed cattle. On the other hand, our native grasses have been exported all over the world as improved fodder.

This basic exchange is called Commerce and is considered good business. Perhaps.

So long as you don’t forget that it isn’t necessary to spend money you don’t have on grass sod or imported seed. It is optional. If you’d rather spend the money on new hair ribbons or food for the kiddo… feel free.

I am encouraging a stand of Blue Grama (Bouteloua gracilis) grass in another
spot. Note that Blue Grama is New Mexico’s state grass. It was a mainstay for the buffalo and loved by Pronghorn Antelope.

Yes, I am dreaming that the birds harvest my Blue Grama seeds and distribute them with the requisite plop of fertilizer to my neighbors in the valley.

Since Brome is an annual, it is easily discouraged by cutting the seedheads just as they start to ripen but before they disperse.

What to do with this rich harvest of Brome seed? No chickens yet, so I am giving my worms a feast. I do hope to attend a poultry swap in town on the 14th, so perhaps my next harvest will feed the little egg layers.

Not to mention that Blue Grama makes a lovely lawn, not requiring pesticides, water, fertilizer, or purchase of sod. No Commerce? Horrors.

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in chicken m, gardening, plant uses, water, wildlife, worms and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

