A River of Flowers

Although my neighbors said it is impossible to garden up here in the mountains, I am making a lovely show this year without working hard or watering. Next year will be better.

Now that it is hitting 90 degrees during the day, Spreading Fleabane (Erigeron divergens) is blooming among my river of Purple Verbena (Verbena bipinnatifida), sprinkling in pretty white daisies with yellow centers throughout the purple.

Not edible for me, but the butterflies have gone crazy around my house. I am dreaming about honey bees! Perhaps next year.

I also have a lot of different caterpillars rummaging around, eating their way into butterflyhood. A new fellow this year, rusty colored and spiny. I confess I haven’t taken time to identify the little stranger. He is welcome here, whatever his name may be.

Another delight this year is Scarlet Beeblossom (Gaura coccinea), but only a few in my yard. As I see them, I pull other plants out around them. Next year I will see an increase. These delicate little blooms open white in the evening and attract night flying moths to pollinate (and feast)… but the
next morning they are pink and red.

Viewed from my front gate, I begin to see the river of flowers I dreamed my first winter. Now even my neighbors can see the dream coming to light. They don’t know yet that I dream about their acreage too.

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in gardening, wildlife and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

