Worms and Other Gifts

It is the Age of Money, so I tend to ask for… money. I get better results when I ask for what I want instead of cash to pay for what I want.

Gil offered me several pounds of wildflower seeds yesterday. Sweet! He’ll bring them Friday. I am bringing Gil perennial wildflowers for his patio garden.

A neighbor just gave me worms from his greenhouse. I asked if he’d ever seen worms in our soil and he has not. His worms are in a concrete-lined bed. My new worms are in my dining room with fresh leaves, ground up vegetables, and bread to eat. I hope they will be happy until I finish their bin. He also gave me good advice about greenhouse gardening in the mountains.

It started snowing just as I was leaving his place. Spring is nearly here, right?

This morning I asked for a hummingbird plant for a partly shady spot in my food forest. As I was returning with worms in hand, I saw Scrambled Eggs (Corydalis aurea) by the road. Although this plant is a medicinal, it is poisonous so DO NOT EAT.

Corydalis is a great early food source for hummingbirds, bees, and butterflies. It is not eaten by people, mule deer, rabbits, or rock squirrels. Corydalis will look good in the guild around this Pinyon Pine (Pinus edulis). No seeds yet, but I will keep an eye on them for later collection.

I also saw what looks like Pale Wolfberry (Lycium pallida). I will keep watching until I see blossoms for positive identification.

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in plant uses, wildlife and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Worms and Other Gifts

  1. Helen says:

    So you don’t have worms in your soil! Any idea why?

  2. Helen, I have read that worms are not native, but we’re imported to the US from Europe. I guess they haven’t spread this far. Not sure, but it is dry here. I added some to my blueberry bed. Haven’t seen any this spring, but haven’t dug around either. The guy I got them from said he’s released them several times but never see them again. Decomposition is slow without them. I hope hugelkulter beds would give them a good place to live.

Leave a Reply

