Lamb’s Quarters

Last summer Margy gave me a half dozen Lamb’s Quarters (Chenopodium album) and I potted them up and left them on my back porch.

Somebody came along and chomped the tops off. They grew back but I wasn’t sure if I got enough seed for this year.

They are coming up nicely, I hope I get enough for salad this year.

Chenopodiums are tasty and include Epazote (great in beans) and Quinoa. I have a fine leaf variety that I ate last year.

You can use Lambs Quarters just like Spinach but it is easier to grow. It will reseed wherever you put it, no trouble at all. Margy watered hers and it got about 5 feet tall. I won’t water mine so it may stay at about 3 feet.

More easy greens! I am spoiled and won’t plant any European lettuce, too much trouble and it bolts early in our season.

I gave Margy a few Smooth Amaranth. I’ll have to check to be sure she has seedlings this year. I gave Amaranth seed to Tialyn the other day, they are native and foolproof. Delicious.

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in sprouting, wild edibles and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

