Worms and Dreams of Free Labor

I have always opposed vermiculture for adding work to the free (to us) labor of worms and other organisms in the soil that decompose plant matter and turn it into rich soil.

Try stopping this process and you will wonder why there are books to educate you on how to “make” it happen. It happens no matter what silly things you do.

Now I live around bears and other wildlife that want to precompost my compost. Not a bad system in itself, but dangerous to have a black bear at the door demanding dinner. No fool, I do not have a compost pile working in the back yard.

While dreaming about what I will feed chickens during the long mountain winters, I read an article about vermiculture. Lights on.

My coop is large and made with 2×12 lumber (scrap). I can incorporate a big vermiculture bin which will create beloved compost for my gardens, dispose of waste, provide chickens natural protein, and not attract bears or squirrels to eat kitchen scraps.

I will run kitchen scraps through the blender for speed of composting and reduction of odor, like I always have.

Composting will provide heat for the chickens in winter and vice versa, so important when it is 0° outside. The coop roof is part plastic panels which allow light inside and creates some greenhouse heat during the day.

I am impressed with how many projects I can dream up while resting from actualizing prior dreams.

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in chicken m and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Worms and Dreams of Free Labor

  1. lizard100 says:

    Vermiculite is great. Won’t the chickens eat all the worms though?

Leave a Reply

