Dreaming of Self Sufficiency

Identifying and using native plants is an important part of my desire to stop purchasing from the corporate food wagon. I have a particular horror of GMOs.
My dad taught me a lot about native plants when I was young and I gardened with my mom. I have combined their philosophies into a type of permaculture where I use both native and domestic plants. I add wild plants to my garden beds and mix trees, shrubs, flowers and vegetables in the beds for beauty and utility. I don’t use pesticides.
Monoculture may be great for heavy equipment and chemical sales but I get beautiful and edible results using polyculture.
I have wild Scarlet Globemallow (Sphaeralcea coccinea) growing on my property. It is a very pretty wildflower that supports bees, blooming over a long period. It is also a larval host plant for many butterflies.
Last summer I harvested and air dried enough Globemallow to use as a hair rinse all winter. I make a cup of tea from the dried leaves and pour it over my hair after washing.
It enriches my haircolor and my hair is thicker and curlier. I have gone online and read the claims by hair product companies using Globemallow but have never purchased them. I haven’t had any allergic reaction to it so might try making a skin lotion. Take care when identifying and using unknown plants.
This wildflower is a drought tolerant perennial that spreads by rhizomes and seeds. I have transplanted it into my flower beds as a carefree flower that is also useful.

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in plant uses, wild edibles and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dreaming of Self Sufficiency

  1. I hope you will consider contributing a recipe to the Global Recipe Project – it’s for a good cause! 🙂 http://crowdedearthkitchen.com/global-recipe-project/

Leave a Reply

