New Mexico Food

I am already crazy about New Mexico chile but what I really want is native plant food that was eaten by native folks before we showed up with packets of European seeds that require endless labor in this “New World.”
In Texas I had Redbuds (Cercis canadendis). They have it all. Beautiful spring blooms (edible) followed by edible green seedpods followed by edible dried beans similar to lentils. Even more, they fix nitrogen in the soil and give lacey shade from the hot Texas sun to protect gardens underneath. Tried to buy one last year but glad I did not, it might need watered in New Mexico.
New Mexico Locust (Robinia neomexicana) is our local variant on that theme. It has beautiful blooms followed by edible pods and beans. I will find seed this summer and grow my own. I will try boiling, drying, and storing the flowers for use next winter. Might make a nice tea.
For dried bean production without effort, you cannot beat a tree.

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in wild edibles and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

