The Age of Money

I live in the age of money. I have been recreating a career and working hard to gain promotions to earn more money. Seems to be working.
Even better, I am thinking hard about how to live with less money. Much of what comes to mind requires… money… to implement. Most of what does not require money is gathering endless new rules to convince us that it really requires more money and effort than it is worth.
Age of Money Truth: Wandering the woods is out, so buying a bit of dirt is required. My first expenditure is for five acres of pinyon-juniper forest. It will be paid off in 5 years.
Age of Money Truth: Housing requires a 30 year mortgage. My land came with a old mobile home of no monetary value so I live there. Not insulated or solid, but functional. Ugly.
My heart yearns for something solid and beautiful that hugs the earth, a cabin and greenhouse designed by me for me.
No matter how I scheme, building a cabin will cost money. First for permits!
Can I slither around endless laws and pressure to conform to a 30 year mortgage and standardized (corporate made) housing?
For a self built home, pole barn construction makes it easier to comply with code. It ensures support for the roof, a good thing, and makes all walls non-loadbearing. For that I need 8 trees to hold up my roof and I have them here. I have endless rock for (non-loadbearing) walls and I am dragging them down all the time.
How many hours of labor to build a home? More than it takes to pay a 30 year mortgage? How hard to ensure a 30 year career to pay the mortgage? Can you keep a career without being transferred to another state? Without breaks in income?
When we are lucky enough to have a job and income, why don’t we include all the costs?

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in home and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

