Asian Pears – Perfection

A few weeks ago I purchased and ate two Asian Pears. Ouch! Pricey at the market and delicious. Exactly what I like in my garden. Add that it is deep rooted (drought tolerant), easy to grow, fruits for years, and its fruits can be stored or preserved for use during the winter. Did I mention that it gives cooling shade in the summer and allows winter sun to shine in? Fall leaves make great compost and enriched soil. Spring flowers are beautiful, and draw butterflies and bees (no toxins, please). It just made my list of perfect plants.
I dried the seeds and planted all of them in one 4″ pot in my southern window. As of today I have 3 tree seedlings and 2 are already showing true leaves.
I also purchased a sturdy Asian Pear from a local grower last week for $29. A decent price considering… but if I bought $29 worth of fruit I would have eaten well and ended with an orchard.
As it is, I will keep at least 2 seedling trees, plant the big boy, and come spring I will gift the remaining tree(s) to someone for their garden. I love when that happens.
That big tree? These seedlings will overtake it in a couple years and have a deeper and more drought tolerant taproot. Very helpful in New Mexico’s dry climate.
Planting tip for trees and shrubs in a dry climate:
Fill a 5 gallon bucket with dead twigs and wood, fill with water and soak for several days. Bury them below the tree roots. If you feel energetic, bury a large log or branch under your trees. They absorb water like a sponge and help keep the plants from having water stress. Done on a larger scale it is also known as hugelkultur… wonderful for dry land.

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in fruit trees and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

