Apples Don’t Fall Far From the Tree (seed)

My 7 year old grandson Devin recently confided that he planted an apple seed in the back yard. He was disappointed that it had not yet sprouted. I laughed and told him that apple seeds sprout in the spring.

I dried 3 more seeds for a few days and gave them to him to plant alongside the first one. Just to be sure. If he gets 4 trees, he has 3 to share.

Experts advise against planting apple seeds because you have no idea “what” you will get.

You will get an apple tree. It will produce apples.

Best if you live in Washington state like Devin does. If you live in the south try a Fuji apple seed, it likes hot summers and warmer winters better than most apple trees.

When you are eating apples from your own tree (seed), you can name your new apple variety. There are over 6000 known varieties, but many are lost each year. Take a chance on an apple seed, it is free and increases biodiversity.
Devin’s apple tree? Galactica out of Gala?

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in fruit trees, sprouting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Apples Don’t Fall Far From the Tree (seed)

  1. Fellow seed saver.
    Loved this post. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

