Manna from Heaven

Last summer I was up the hill when a sand storm hit. Expecting to have my skin stripped off, I was amazed to have dust dropped on me like flour from a sifter. Manna from heaven.

I opened my eyes to see this spot where dirt rains on a gardener.

It is a small area that was bulldozed years ago for a tiny house. East is a sharp rise of wooded hillside and west drops with pinyons and junipers making an evergreen hedge. The wind calms enough for the dust to settle and after several decades it has accumulated an amazing amount of soil.

Over the next few weeks I built a berm with rocks from my hill to deepen the soil pocket but had no soil to fill in. I planted 5 fruit trees with smaller berms at future soil level.

This week Esther gave me 2 truckloads of tree litter from her yard cleanup. More manna! When I took some up to the orchard I saw mule deer tracks. They are great nibblers of young trees… perhaps my orchard looks like manna to them.

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.