December Dreaming

I am dreaming of a stone cabin in a food forest.

I have 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on a west-facing hill in Santa Fe County, New Mexico that is part of a series of hills that makes a good wildlife corridor.

Last night I saw a wolf. I was driving home and he ran across the road through my head lights. It was about 16 degrees with 6 inches of snow on the ground. I think he is well fed because we have endless cottontails in the neighborhood, a few jackrabbits, and mice. Mule deer too, if he has a family around to help take them down.

The base trees of my food forest are pinyon trees. They only bear pine nuts every few years, but are delicious and loved by humans and wild life.

About rebeccatreeseed

I am a naturalist raised by naturalists. Treeseed is my earned name, while Rebecca is my birth name. I am of Northern European descent, with a quarter Irish.quarter thrown in. I suspect I was a product of northern invaders into Ireland into Ireland. but hard to say since DNA disproved the family story about Apache blood! I have found some odd ancestors to replace them. Last year I bought 5 acres of pinyon-juniper forest on the side of a mountain in Santa Fe County, New Mexico. I am fulfilling a lifetime dream of a cabin in the mountains and a food forest that will feed me and local wildlife. I want to share this new phase of my life with others that might be interested.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.